Monday, November 9, 2009


The brainchild of The Black Keys andDamon Dash, BlakRoc Records will release BlakRoc on “Black Friday,”November 27, the day after Thanksgiving (to be dubbed “Blak Friday” by the independent record stores that will sell the album). Produced by and featuring music by The Black Keys, BlakRoc hosts a star-studded line up of MCs including Mos Def,Q-Tip, RZA, Ol’ Dirty Bastard, Raekwon,Ludacris, Pharoahe Monch, Jim Jones,NOE, Nicole Wray and Billy Danze. Of the album, The Black Keys’ Dan Auerbach, who also provides vocals on several tracks, said “no samples were used on the record, it’s all live instruments and live vocals.” For more information, please visit, where new content will be added every Friday until release. Please see below for a full track listing.


1. “Coochie” w/ Ludacris, Ol’ Dirty Bastard
2. “On The Vista” w/ Mos Def
3. “Hard Times” w/ NOE
4. “Dollaz & Sense” w/ Pharoahe Monch, RZA and Dan Auerbach
5. “Why Can’t I Forget Him” w/ Nicole Wray
6. “Stay Off The F*%$#n’ Flowers” w/ Raekwon
7. “Ain’t Nothing Like You (Hoochie Coo)” w/ Jim Jones, Mos Def and Dan Auerbach
8. “Hope You’re Happy” w/ Billy Danze, Nicole Wray, Q-Tip
9. “Tellin’ Me Things” w/ RZA
10. “What You Do To Me” w/ Billy Danze, Jim Jones, Nicole Wray and Dan Auerbach
11. “Done Did It” w/ Nicole Wray, NOE

BlakRoc Records was started by The Black Keys, Damon Dash and John Peets of Q Prime South.

No comments: